[2011] Present yourself!

GSoC developers forum
luizribeiro
Gephi Plugin Developer
[2011] Present yourself!

Post by luizribeiro » 10 Mar 2011 14:39

Hi,

My name is Luiz Gustavo Cardoso Ribeiro. I'm a Computer Engineering student in Brazil, currently in the senior year. Graph theory is one of my favorite computer science areas (my undergraduate thesis is related to journey planning) and hence my interest in Gephi.

Even though I usually write code in C++, I've been a Java programmer for about 5 years (learned Java just before I was a freshman on college) and I have a lot of programming experience and algorithmic background, because I've been participating on programming contests (ACM-ICPC, TopCoder, etc) since high school. Besides C, C++ and Java, I also have experience with Python.

I've found Gephi about two weeks ago, while searching for graph visualization tools for my undergraduate thesis and I've been using it since then.

I'm really interested in participating on Summer of Code this year, and since my undergraduate thesis is related to graph theory, it would be very exciting to work on Gephi.

From the official proposals, I'm mainly interested on moving Gephi's build system to Maven or on porting the Gython language as a console plugin to Gephi (although I'm used with Python, I have no experience with Gython and GUESS yet, but I'm sure I won't have any issues learning it).

Also, I think that Gephi would be benefited if it had a Blueprints implementation, since the Gremlin graph traversal language could be used for querying the graph structures created with Gephi. But I'm not sure if that would go along with Gephi's goals on this year's GSoC (working on core improvements).

Best Regards,
Luiz Ribeiro

joshua
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Present yourself!

Post by joshua » 19 Mar 2011 06:53

Hello everybody,