Advice for total novice

Once it's running
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
pythias
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Advice for total novice

Post by pythias » 03 Jan 2015 17:53

Hi everyone, I am a total novice to all kinds of social networking software, but I am writing a PhD thesis on social networks and could do with a way of visualising them. I am a bit phased by the technical tone of much help material that I've read and even the most basic of video tutorials I've come across assume knowledge I lack. I want to visualise a network that is comprised of individuals and organisations. I want to be able to capture the relationship between individuals and individuals; between groups and groups; and between each individual and the organisations that they are involved in (it is minimum one but typically more since I want to include past employment/involvement). I am just not sure what kind of data I need to create outside Gephi in order to import it. What kind of file do I need to create and how do I get the information about the individuals and organisations down in the right format? Sorry to appear so hopeless but any help, pointers, videos, etc all incredibly appreciated! Thanks.

pegerp
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Advice for total novice

Post by pegerp » 04 Jan 2015 10:15

Hi pythias!

Gephi can import VNA format which is quite intuitive. You can check the details at http://gephi.github.io/users/supported- ... na-format/