[SOLVED] How to visualize differences in Product Portfolio

Computing metrics, community detection and data handling
h.turhan
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[SOLVED] How to visualize differences in Product Portfolio

Post by h.turhan » 19 Nov 2012 14:32

Hello everyone,
I am an absolute newbie here and our task is to organize a product portfolio of a company. They have many products with similar features and many with unalike ones, and we want to collect them in certain family groups within certain common features. We will create an excel file with values like; name, design, material ... And we want to visualize it with gephi like people does it for network relation visualization or so.
We want to visualize our result to convince our boss that reveals the products that have similar features gathering in clusters, meaning that they can be simply in the same family.
So, in order to get such a result with gephi, should we give quantitative values to the variables like design, quality...?
We imagine the result in gephi being like this:

designs of products---> are defined by colours
each product --> is defined as a node
similarities between the products ---> defined as edges, so we can see diferent product families cluster in different locations in the final result.

so in order to see the similar products gathering and different products putting a gap to each other and finding their own similar products and clustering their own family, how can we manage the edges?
what could be your suggestions?

We are really bad at these things, we would really appretiate any help!

seinecle
Gephi Community Support

Re: How to visualize the differences in Product Portfolio

Post by seinecle » 19 Nov 2012 23:14

Hi,

Cool project.

You could have a look at a small software I developed:

https://github.com/seinecle/Gaze/wiki/G ... r-networks