Stream-in data and visualize them in Gephi

Screenshots, Vectorial Preview and printable exports
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
AlexFred
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Stream-in data and visualize them in Gephi

Post by AlexFred » 31 Oct 2013 20:39

Hi, all,

I'm new to Gephi and not familiar with JAVA programming (but I'm learning).
My project is like this:
I have a dynamic large graph (a friendship network on facebook, a retweet network on Twitter, a paper-paper citation network in Computer Science, etc.). All are dynamic in nature. Given the stream-in edges (or nodes) of these network, visualize them and then people can see how the network structure evolves.

But some requirements here:
Low-level communication with Gephi, which means I would not double-click gephi.exe to start gephi, or create a new project and new workspace by manually clicking those buttons in Gephi software. I want to use Gephi's API to do that automatically.
Ideally, when I start run my own project, my program will communication with Gephi in a low-level programming way, and create a new project, a new workspace in Gephi automatically. Then my program will read the stream-in edges (nodes) from a certain source (it could be a data file). Since Gephi provides the Graph Streaming API https://marketplace.gephi.org/plugin/graph-streaming/, then I'm gonna use that API to initiate a server (Gephi is the master server). The server will receive those come-in edges and display them in a dynamic fashion (using ForceAtlas layout algorithm) in an Applet.

I've done a lot of survey job, regarding Gephi's API, Graph Streaming API, toolkit, and so on.
And I've found some interesting examples from GitHub and :