[SOLVED] Confused about Filters - Bipartite Graph

Visual manipulations and refinements
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
psychemedia
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[SOLVED] Confused about Filters - Bipartite Graph

Post by psychemedia » 15 Apr 2010 18:14

Hi

I'm new to SNA and was hoping to bootstrap my learning through visual exploration of networks using Gephi.

As a regular blogger, I'm happy to post mini-tutorials about how to use Gephi, so if you can give me occasional pointers and answers to my naive questions, I may be able to help with your Getting Started and tutorial writing efforts!

So - to start:

I have a bipartite graph (user IDs and comment IDs) relating to users who viewed comments in a forum. I popped the data into a directed format (user->comment) and also assigned a typ attribute ("comment" or "user") for each node in a gdf file.

What I would like to do is create a network view that shows, for example, comments with more than 10 viewers (eg in-degree > 10, typ partition "comment") that have been viewed by people who have viewed more than 15 comments (out-degree > 15, typ partition "user"). How do I define a query to do this?

As well as the nodes, I want to see any edges that connect the displayed nodes (ie i want to see edges that connect users who've viewed lots of comments with the popular comments they've viewed).

I was also wondering whether it's possible to use gephi to get a unipartite projection of a bipartite graph. eg in the above case, can i get a projection that shows edges directly connecting two users who have viewed the same comment, or comments directly connected by edges if the same person viewed them?

thanks
tony