[TODO] Selectable multiple attributes/colour per node

Visual manipulations and refinements
shambo
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[TODO] Selectable multiple attributes/colour per node

Post by shambo » 08 Jun 2011 19:01

Hi all,

I just started using Gephi yesterday, and I'm mightily impressed with what it can do. I need a bit of advice, and after reading a couple of posts on the forum I think what I'm about to ask cannot be done yet, so please treat it as a suggestion if this is true. I'm a biologist, and my situation is as follows.

I have a gene A connected to gene B, gene C, and gene D :
A->B
A->C
A->D

Genes B C and D have further attributes, in that B is physically bound by protein X and gene C is physically bound by X AND Y and D by Y only, so:

A->B(X)
A->C(XY)
A->D(Y)

Is there any way in Gephi to colour these X and Y types differently? I understand that node C will be a problem for now, and maybe one could select a "major" attribute which overrides all others?

Many thanks

seinecle
Gephi Community Support

Re: Selectable multiple attributes/colour per node

Post by seinecle » 10 Jun 2011 08:30

Hi Shambo,

Cool use case! I suggest this road:

- assign the binding protein as an attribute to the edge between the two genes.
(Indeed, edges can have attributes. Look at the data laboratory, within it switch to the view of the list of edges. There, you will see that each edge can be enriched by attributes - simply add columns: one column per new attribute!)

- to do that, unluckily in Gephi's data laboratory there is no fast way to copy a node's attribute as an attribute for all edges in which this node participates. But this is very easy to do with a spreadsheet.