[SOLVED] Weighted Adjacency Matrix,Community Detection, GDF

Get help with your data
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
shafique
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[SOLVED] Weighted Adjacency Matrix,Community Detection, GDF

Post by shafique » 31 Jan 2011 08:29

Hi,
I have no experience of script writing and just switched from Pajek to Gephi 0.7 due to the need for detecting communities from a weighted adjacency matrix of 74 nodes. Somehow, my .NET file of Pajek did not open in Gephi. After failure with .dl type as well, I resorted to .gdf file.

In my matrix every element represents the frequency of co-occurance of corresponding nodes, and hence, it is the weight of the edge. When I open the .gdf file in Gephi, it gives only one error:

"Column type is not found for 'weight', string is used instead.
Edge property found: weight"

All the data loads neatly in Nodes and Edges tables of Gephi. However, the problem is that the graph shows every node connected to every other node which obviously is not the case. Moreover, the modularity algorithm lumps all the nodes in a single community while even a cursory view of my matrix and Pajek network suggests a strong likelihood that there are a few communities.
coclass_edges_ep_GDF.csv
Data File
(62.83KiB)Downloaded 456 times
The data file is attached in .csv format which I open in Notepad and save as .gdf type.

Can anybody help in pointing out what I may be doing wrong?

Moreover, what are other alternative softwares for community detection?

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation.

BR,
Shafique

eduramiba
Gephi Code Manager