Node attributes "in the alternative" (decisionmakers' names)

Get help with your data
CaseLawMiner
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Node attributes "in the alternative" (decisionmakers' names)

Post by CaseLawMiner » 17 Nov 2016 11:50

Hello! I am fairly new to this type of research, but I have used Gephi a bit for basic mapping / visualisation. I have searched for an answer and did not find it, so apologies if this this has been covered.

So, I am doing network analysis of case law and I am proceeding as follows. I have two csv files, one with nodes, the other one with edges. The first one has attributes relating to the case, something like:

Code: Select all

Id,Attribute1,Year,Attribute2
CaseA,JurisdictionA,1988,ReproductiveRights
The other is what case cites another and the type of citation, so that would be

Source,Target,Attribute
Case1,Case2,CitTopicA
Case2,Case3,CitTopicB
Now, what I want to do is to add the name of the individual judges in the cases so as to compare it to the citation patterns. However, there multiple judges. So, how do I go about comparing that? The problem is that I don't know what type of variable that is. If I have:

CaseA,JurisdictionA,1988,ReproductiveRights,JudgeA,JudgeB,JudgeC
I need to be able to find a correlation with

CaseB,JurisdictionC,2001,ReproductiveRights,JudgeC,JudgeD,JudgeE
Is this possible?

Thanks a lot!

eduramiba
Gephi Code Manager
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Node attributes "in the alternative" (decisionmakers' na

Post by eduramiba » 17 Nov 2016 12:27

Hi,
You can use the String List (String [] array) type for that, when importing the spreadsheet.