[SOLVED] "impossible to read the given file"

Get help with your data
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
d-lam
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[SOLVED] "impossible to read the given file"

Post by d-lam » 04 May 2010 01:39

Hi,
I'm new here!!!
First I have to say that you all make a great job!
Gephi is a nice program and I hope I can do the things I need with it.
Maybe I should say that I'm not a developer....so sorry if my questions are a little bit trivial.

My question is: If I want to open a GraphML File with the size of 5,74 mb or bigger....I get "warning - impossible to read the given file"! Is there a limitation in file size.....or number of nodes & edges??? Can I handle it? Maybe import-settings or something? I only have the GraphML files.....what can I do to open & visualize those files???

Would be nice if you can help me!!!!
Thanks & Greetings from Germany
d-lam

admin
Gephi Community Manager
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: "impossible to read the given file"

Post by admin » 04 May 2010 08:18

Hi d-lam,

Welcome to Gephi community! Hopefully we are not all developers here ;)

Gephi can handle much bigger files with only computer (JVM) memory as limitation. If the file had some parsing errors, you'll have a more precise message in the report panel ; and if it would be a problem with memory, there wouldn't be any message as Java would swap.

I don't find this message in Gephi sources, so it's weird but Java seems not able to open the file. On which operating system does Gephi run?

cheers,
seb

mbastian
Gephi Architect