edge weight = edge length

Algorithms and parameters to put data in space
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
garethayres
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
edge weight = edge length

Post by garethayres » 12 Apr 2012 12:47

Hi, im new to Gephi but im trying to make graphs where the edge weight represents the length between nodes.

I searched and read that the Force Atlas uses the edge weight as a factor towards edge length. But the lower the edge weight the longer the edge length?

Also i would like the length to be a fixed value where possible, and move nodes to accommodate the edge lengths to neighbour nodes.

Im trying to get nodes to position themselves so that they are closer to neighbours using the edge weight, where edge weight of a larger value represents a larger distance.

Im not sure what is the best option for me? Or if Force Atlas is as good i as can get, if i inverse my edge weight values?

Thanks,
Gareth.

admin
Gephi Community Manager
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: edge weight = edge length

Post by admin » 12 Apr 2012 12:55

Hi,

Force-directed layouts works on the following principle: the stronger the relationship between two nodes, the closer they are. So edge weight is always considered as the "strength" of a relation: small weights means weaker relation so distant nodes, and large weights means stronger relation so closer nodes.

I am not aware of a layout about to position nodes with the exact formula "edge weight = edge length".

ryanefoley@gmail.com

Post by ryanefoley@gmail.com » 22 Aug 2012 21:56