[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 583: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 639: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4516: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3262)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4516: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3262)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4516: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3262)
Gephi forums •Parallel Force Atlas - Page 3
Page 3 of 3

Re: Parallel Force Atlas

Posted: 19 Jan 2012 16:43
by jeffg
I did do it in Java, but I'm not using the Gephi base code for my nodes / edges / graph, so I rewrote portions to reflect my code, but all the logic for the layout itself is consistent. For example, I didn't like that the layout used doubles to store everything as it consumes twice the memory (and a good amount for large graphs when your talking about 3 sets of x,y,z) and I don't need that level of precision, so I changed them all to floats. Stuff like this is what makes it a pain to port back.. haha

Most of the improvements were in the Region and ForceFactory. I think I'm laying out about 20,000 nodes in about 5sec (completed time). A good bit of changes to the buildRegions and converting to using a fast distance calculation when real distance was unnecessary (no need for square root).

Example - the current code does this in the Force Factory.

Code: Select all

double distance = (float) Math.sqrt(xDist * xDist + yDist * yDist);
if (distance > 0) {
         double factor = coefficient * n1Layout.mass * n2Layout.mass / distance / distance;
}
So you have a sqrt and then divide the mass by distance twice - what's the point there? 200 / 10 / 10 = 2 or 200 /100 = 2. There are two expensive calculations there that don't need to be.

Code: Select all

double distance = (xDist * xDist + yDist * yDist);
if (distance > 0) {
         double factor = coefficient * n1Layout.mass * n2Layout.mass / distance;
}
In the Barnes Hut, I made some changes to create the sub-regions faster (less loops and less object creation) - important since I was going from 4 to 8 regions for 3D. I added a region limit since computing to 1 node can be expensive when it's unnecessary at first for a quick convergence. I stage it out a bit, only processing to a node level of nodes.size() * .005f for the first 25 steps, then drop it to 0 after that, which is the current value.

So, when you add it all up along with other changes here and there, it can make a big difference.

Re: Parallel Force Atlas

Posted: 07 Feb 2012 19:27
by bumper_boy2000
hi guys. I have a really trivial question. does PFA run indefinitely? I can see that it's much faster than FA1 and FA2, but my graphs don't seem to finish rendering. :/

Re: Parallel Force Atlas

Posted: 09 Feb 2012 11:31
by pbittner
There is no convergence check at the end of each iteration of PFA. It is up to the user to stop the layout when satisfied with the result. If your graphs are small enough, the layout will stabilize itself quite quickly. If after running the layout for a while some nodes keep moving around from one position to another, you should reduce the speed parameter to help these nodes find a stable position.

Re: Parallel Force Atlas

Posted: 09 Feb 2012 14:34
by bumper_boy2000
pbittner wrote:There is no convergence check at the end of each iteration of PFA. It is up to the user to stop the layout when satisfied with the result. If your graphs are small enough, the layout will stabilize itself quite quickly. If after running the layout for a while some nodes keep moving around from one position to another, you should reduce the speed parameter to help these nodes find a stable position.
alright got it. i have a few graphs to visualize. some are small, and "converge" easily. i will try reducing the speed parameter for the large graphs. thanks! :)

Re: Parallel Force Atlas

Posted: 09 Feb 2012 14:58
by bumper_boy2000
i just checked. lol my speed's already been set to 1 for all graphs. i guess that's the best it can do. :/

Re: Parallel Force Atlas

Posted: 12 Feb 2012 20:00
by martin.pernollet
Hi,
I recently noticed my laptop was able to switch to a non nvidia graphic card, so you have to explicitly set from nvidia settings panel that you want the OS to always use your nvidia, and not an alternative (maybe less energy consuming) chip.
See a screenshot in this discussion: http://forum.jogamp.org/Fail-to-run-a-d ... 15480.html.

That info may help for your doc.

Once changed, I noticed the checkbox does not uncheck itself, so I assume your plugin works :)

By the way, why not using JOCL to compute layout? Maybe easier to embed in a java program :)

Martin