[SOLVED] Transforming existing column in time interval

Evolution and dynamics on networks in Gephi: UI, data formats, algorithms...
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
Benjamin82
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1275: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[SOLVED] Transforming existing column in time interval

Post by Benjamin82 » 26 May 2011 20:36

Hallo community,

I started using Gephi for my final thesis and I would like to analyse a dynamic network. Since now I have some problems in doing that, especially by importing my data into Gephi. On the one hand I’m not an expert in XML and on the other hand I got my data as an Excel sheet with more than 3000 rows. To increase my efficiency I would like to choose the way to work with csv files and after importing the file, merge it to a time interval, see here:
http://wiki.gephi.org/index.php/Import_ ... e_Interval

But there is a problem I cannot solve:

1)Let’s assume that there will be an actor in the network, who participated in three out of six meetings. That means that he participated in the first, second and the fourth meeting. And here is my problem, I can only merge the columns with one specified start and one specified end. But how can I handle actors if they should appear again after the first specified end during the dynamic network (if they appear twice, but between these two appearances there is a time gap). Is there any way to get a time interval like that: <[1;2];[4;4]> by merging columns? (1=First Meeting, 2= second Meeting..., instead of using real date)